Thaipusam in Penang
Malaysia's Coat of Arm Dragon Boat Race Tempurung Cave's Limestone Wall formation
I put the States of Malaysia into groups as shown below because before Malaysia was formed, those States were in such groups which influenced the people of those States and the Malaysia people as a whole. The groups were Straits Settlements (Negeri-negeri Selat), Federation of Malay States (Negeri-negeri Bersekutu), Unfederated Malay States (Negeri-negeri Tak Bersekutu), and Northern Borneo States.
Satay Masjid Jamek in Kuala Lumpur

Oh yes, do not forget that Malaysia has three federal territories. The most important one is the capital city of Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur which was declared in 1974. The second is Labuan which was declared in 1984. The third is the administrative city of Malaysia, Putrajaya, which was declared in 2001.
Currently, there are no links to Johor, Sabah and Labuan.

Straits Settlements (Negeri-negeri Selat) Top
Penang High Court daytime Porta De Santiago from St. Paul's Hill
Chingay Queen Vistoria's Fountain at night
The Straits Settlements were territories / possessions of the United Kingdom, being a British crown colony under the rule of Colonial Office in London in 1867 and lasted until 1946. Before 1867, the Straits Settlements were territories of the British East India Company in Southeast Asia. Straits Settlements consisted of Penang (also known as Prince of Wales Island), Malacca, Singapore and some small islands along Straits of Malacca.
Singapore is in history of Malaya and Malaysia but as Singapore (left Malaysia in 1965) is not part of Malaysia now, I will not put Singapore in this page.
States/Interest Penang Malacca
Places of Interest Places in Penang Places in Malacca
Food Penang Food
Culture and Festivals Penang Culture Festivals
Plants and Fruits Malaysia's Trees, Plants and Fruits Malaysia's Trees, Plants and Fruits
About About Penang About Melaka
History History of Penang History of Malacca

Federation of Malay States (Negeri-negeri Bersekutu) Top
Malay Minangkabau House Sultan Ahmad Shah Mosque
Gua Tempurung's Top of the World Batu Caves
There were four states in this federation. They were Perak, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan and Pahang. This Federation of Malay States was formed by the British Government in 1895, agreed by the Ruler / Sultan of the four states and lasted until 1946. Treaty of Federation was signed on 01st July 1896 by the four Sultans. The Federation of Malay States officially became a protectorate of Great Britain with the Sultans having to give up their political power in their states to the British. The power was given to the Resident-General and later was known as the Chief Secretary of the Federation. The individual states was still ruled by the Sultan but was advised by a State Council headed by a Resident from United Kingdom.
States/Interest Perak Selangor Negeri Sembilan Pahang
About About Perak About Negeri Sembilan About Pahang
Places of Interest Places in Perak Batu Caves Places in N. Sembilan Places in Pahang

Unfederated Malay States (Negeri-negeri Tak Bersekutu) Top
Arch along Jalan Sultanah Zainab Garden outside Maziah Palace Clock Tower near Mersing Jetty
Railway container area at Padang Besar Balai Nobat
There were five states in the Unfederated Malay States. They were Perlis, Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu, Johore.
States/Interest Perlis Kedah Kelantan Terengganu Johor
About About Perlis About Kedah About Kelantan About Terengganu
Places of Interest Places in Perlis Places in Kedah Places in Kelantan Places in Terengganu

North Borneo States Top
Cat Statue
There are two states of Malaysia in Borneo Island. They are Sarawak and Sabah which are located on Northen Borneo Island.
States/Interest Sarawak Sabah
About About Sarawak
Places of Interest Places in Sarawak
Culture and Festival

Federal Territories Top
Putra Mosque in Putrajaya
Sultan Abdul Samad Building Building in Merdeka Square
There are three federal territories in Malaysia. The first is Kuala Lumpur which was part of Selangor before it became a federal territory. The second is Labuan, an island north off Borneo Island. The third is Putrajaya, also part of Selangor before it became a federal territory.

Kuala Lumpur is the capital city of Malaysia, Labuan is now an International Offshore Financial Centre and Putrajaya, the main administrative centre for Malaysian Government.
States/Interest Kuala Lumpur Labuan Putrajaya
Places of Interest Places in Kuala Lumpur Places in Putrajaya
About About Kuala Lumpur About Putrajaya
History History of Kuala Lumpur History of Putrajaya
Kindly correct me if the information given in this page is incorrect.

The owner of will not be responsible for any error in information provided.
Any loss resulting from the information provided in this site, directly or / and indirectly will be at your own expense and the owner will not take any responsibility whatsoever. See Disclaimer

Places in Malaysia

Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.1
© 2009 to 2012 Created by YYOng. Tested with Mozilla 1.2.1 (Netscape 5.0), SeaMonkey 1.1.18, Opera 10 and IE7.    Disclaimer    Policy    Terms    
For technical or contents issues regarding this site, email YYOng or contact me / 017-4079672.
As this site contains dynamic html, I recommend 4.0+ browsers. Please use font size not less than 12 pixels and not more than 18 pixels for better display.